I would like to share with you the following article from The Wall Street Journal:
It seems like Facebook is preparing to launch soon a new function that will allow deep content searches from Facebook.
According to Facebook, this new search option allows users to make searches related to anything that has been shared on Facebook in the past
With Graph Search, you can look up anything shared with you on Facebook, and others can find stuff you’ve shared with them, including content set to Public. That means different people see different results. According to Facebook you can then search for people, places and things in a new way that has not been possible before.
Privacy options will allow users to decide what information can be shared.
This is where it gets tricky, everything sounds great if we all take the time to check the privacy settings of our Facebook accounts.
I took a few minutes to do the experiment to check the configuration of my account and follow the steps outlined by the article mentioned above, only to realize that in my Facebook privacy settings, Facebook had assigned that any future post I did was going to be visible by the general public and not my friends only.
I have to admit that I was so surprised and shocked by this, that I decided to consult a colleague and I asked her to check the same privacy setting that I had been looking and she found the same exact result, any future post of her would be share with the general public and not her friends only.
Do we have all the time to keep up with our Facebook privacy profile? This is something we should think about it.